top of page
Search
  • Editorial

Lifestyle changes for a healthy future

Updated: Mar 20

By Dorcas njoki,


Till death do us part. I consult with one after another but they all tell me the same thing. They all say that I should take and accept you as part of me, that I should involve and consider you in whatever I do. That I should make sure I am the one controlling you and never let you control me.

 

I try to keep you on track but sometimes you overpower me and make me lose weight, you make me lose appetite and concentration so that I cannot focus on one thing at a time. Because of you I at times have this blurry vision and total night blindness. I try my best to put up with it so that we live together happily but you know what I hate most about you, is when you always make me feel tired and helpless that I am not able to do things on my own


I was only 14 years old when I was diagnosed with diabetes. since then, I have had to depend on insulin so that I live life like the rest. It’s a chronic condition that I have to manage to the grave. My diet plays a major role here. It's all scary because I cannot eat everything as everyone else out there unless it is controlled and only in small portions. Seeing people enjoying sweet meals as you have the alternative is a feeling only few can understand. Waking up one morning and being told that from now on you are going to be taking tea with no sugar and just a slice of bread or two, having to inject yourself twice or even more times a day for the rest of your life.


It’s depressing hearing and seeing people in wheelchairs because their feet have been amputated due to the condition affecting various body parts. Others have their health deteriorating because they cannot afford insulin. thanks to my family and especially Mum. They do their best to make sure am always comfortable by providing what I need to stay and live a normal life.


As a diabetic teen, I have decided to accept myself and also educate others like me on how to live with diabetes. To manage diabetes and overall well-being, consume a diet rich in nutritious foods like whole grains, fruits, vegetables, proteins, healthy fats, and desserts. Include sources of healthy fats such as nuts, while avoiding high-sugar foods like sweetened soda, fried foods, and sugary desserts. Abstaining from drinking heavy amounts of alcohol. At least 30 minutes of physical activity per day on at least 5 days a week, walking, riding a bike or even swimming helps.


A patient should have a glucose monitoring machine known as a glucometer. With this, you can check your sugars not having to go to the facility any time you want to check. If you get symptoms such as dizziness, sweating, shaking, or increased heart rate among others you should see a doctor


I would recommend the government to step in by for example coming up with programs that enable free provision of diabetes care because very many people cannot afford it. Those who have undergone amputation can get jobs that suit them so that they can also make a living. The government can also facilitate campaigns to educate the society on diabetes and even promote and fund further research.




photo credit: www.freepik.co

 

Kommentare


bottom of page