top of page
Search
  • Novic Khavetsa

MJ, THE TOURISM GRADUATE SHUTTERING THE PHOTOGRAPHY INDUSTRY

As one of the most known and highly rated photographers in Ndagani, Emmanuel Momanyi popularly known as 'MJ' is a busy man on most days of the week.

Born in December 25, 1998, MJ, a 25-year-old Chuka University graduate with a degree in Tourism is still pursuing his career in photography and film industry. Despite having a degree in a totally different field, MJ is so passionate about cameras and photography, he has done this job for more than 5 years.

Emmanuel Momanyi. PHOTO/Courtesy

"My love for cameras came at a very young age, it was my passion. I remember during family gatherings and events I always wanted to be the photographer. During my university placements back in 2016, I had five choices related to film and photography but as fate would have it, the last choice which was Chuka University got accepted over my Kenyatta University choices. But maybe what surprises me most is the fact that all my friends who did the exams with me back then got accepted into KU yet I led them in that exam," he confides.


He also wishes that the university offered a photography course, "How I wish Chuka University had film and photography as a course, most students would have taken it."

His unique skills, which he insists is out of passion and dedication enable him to get clients and popularity.

"I started this venture in my second year of study using a camera and a laptop that my big brother bought me. Although initially the reason for buying me the camera was because he knew my passion for photography, it is actually he who told me to use it to make money when he got tired of my frequent phone calls asking for money,"

MJ says he got his name from the abbreviation of Emmanuel junior, which is his name back home in Kisii used to differentiate him from his older brother who is also called Emmanuel; hence the name MJ studios.

MJ, who now operates his studio in a 3-bedroom apartment, admits that setting up a fully functional studio is not a walk in the park. "Getting a place to rent for your work and a house is not easy here in Ndagani. I remember when starting, I used to take pictures along Gate A and other Ndagani areas.


The idea of having a home and a studio separately did not sit well with me since it would have been too expensive. Here, for example I only pay a rent of 14,000 but my studio and house needs are sorted since I live here with my crew. Believe me that is way cheaper than the separate studio and house option,"


On how he managed to raise his initial capital, MJ admits that his brother played a big role. "I did some work back in the day, but since I did not have a national ID , all my money was sent to my brother who topped it up to the tune of around 120,000  and bought me my first camera and laptop"

MJ says that business is at it's peak mostly when the university is open, and down during long holidays. However, MJ has found a way to cover the downtime because of his good relationship with the community, "When the school is closed, I get most of my gigs from the people around here who invite me to cover their events such as weddings and funerals. They are good people who appreciate my work."

Mj has a very interesting story on his first earnings as a photographer, “My first payments used to somehow haunt me because apparently, they were all funerals during the covid period. To some point I thought people thought that I actually enjoyed deaths since I would get paid to cover burials because I was the only person with a camera back home. But I came to accept it as an inevitability and focused on my job, but honestly, I 'ate good' during that time," he says while laughing.


"Here in Ndagani, when starting back then students had not embraced photography as they now have. I remember we literally used to beg people to take their pictures for free! But with time we started charging as low as 30 shillings and prices went up with the eventual economy problems."

Mj charges between 150 shillings to 200 depending on the type of client and quality.

Every business has its challenges, and MJ’s is no different. From theft, to competition, to getting the right quality, MJ has taught himself to maneuver through all of them. "The first camera my brother bought me was the best I have ever had.  But it was stolen when one of my crew was duped by an online fraud into a shoot only to be mugged. Ever since that scenario, I'm careful with strangers and only do night shoots with security. The competition here is also very unfavourable. There are so many studios and stands because of how profitable the business is. Despite being competitors, I still talk to most photographers and share ideas and gigs with them"


In his studios, MJ has a crew of 3 namely Cruz, Dan Mike and Sherriff, coupled with other friends who he trains, though not employed. Many students and clients are full of praises for the young photographer.

Emilio Osoro, a third year at Chuka University says MJs works are exceptional and speak for self. "From the first picture I took here, I have never gone anywhere else. In fact, I have brought friends here instead. MJ is simply the best!" On his part, MJ says that such referrals on and off social media platforms is what gets him clients.

On his future aspirations, MJ plans to open branches at KU where most of his friends are and eventually create employment for the youth.


The Writer, Novic Khavetsa is a 2nd Year Communications student at Chuka University.

Comments


bottom of page